Trust in You

 

Letting go of every single dream
I lay each one down at Your feet
Every moment of my wandering
Never changes what You see

I’ve tried to win this war I confess
My hands are weary I need Your rest
Mighty Warrior, King of the fight
No matter what I face, You’re by my side

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

Truth is, You know what tomorrow brings
There’s not a day ahead You have not seen
So, in all things be my life and breath
I want what You want Lord and nothing less

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

You are my strength and comfort
You are my steady hand
You are my firm foundation; the rock on which I stand

Your ways are always higher
Your plans are always good
There’s not a place where I’ll go, You’ve not already stood

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

I will trust in You!
I will trust in You!
I will trust in You!

 

Music has always been a huge source of comfort and solace for me – regardless of the emotion or current state of events, songs have always found their way into my heart and help me to express myself better than any other method. One of my favorite things to do has always been to drive and blare music. Running with my iPod naturally became another means to accomplish the same task – minus singing to the music that no one hears but me. The music, the lyrics have been known to move me to tears many times as a song hits right where I am. For me, someone who so often keeps her deepest thoughts and emotions tightly capped, the tears are so therapeutic. Belting out the words, singing and feeling the music has always helped me to release what so often gets bottled up.

I’ve listed to this song many times before – I’ve always liked it and felt it to be a powerful song. It wasn’t until recently where I had the opportunity to listen to it alone and blasted it that it really spoke to me, specifically the chorus:

When You don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move
When You don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through
When You don’t give the answers as I cry out to You
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in You!

I am here in this season for a reason – I may want things to change for whatever reason, but those things are here, now, for a reason. HE doesn’t promise to provide my every desire. I don’t see the full picture. I am really good at seeing the here and now – at seeing the mountains in my way, the waters I can’t seen to cross. But in reality, my mountains are minor compared to so many. My mountains will move, in time, and I will be a better person for persevering through things I currently find difficult. Instead of focusing on the obstacle…Instead of focusing on those who aren’t facing that obstacle….Instead of wishing the obstacle weren’t there….Instead of wishing I was someone who found the obstacle easy to overcome…Instead of feeling like the obstacle will always be there, I need to trust HIM. Trust that where I am now is where I am meant to be. Trust that by focusing on the here and now and seeing the blessings and opportunities for growth, I will see change, I will grow because of what I go through – and maybe even be able to be a blessing to others who will face the same challenges one day.

So when peanut won’t sleep and wants to be held…I’ll remember one day she won’t want me to hold her.

So when I get anxious about returning to work and all the responsibilities that adds to the current madness…I’ll remember that I’ve done it before, that I’ll find the time, that I’ve got people that will help, that I’m blessed to have a job I love to return to.

So when the weight isn’t budging and looking in the mirror is painful…I’ll remember that losing weight takes time, that my kids love me for everything that has nothing to do with the extra pounds I carry, that I have lost it before and I can and will do it again!

So when I face xyz, I’ll remember that I am indeed amazingly blessed beyond measure and that I have someone looking out for me who isn’t going to let me get engulfed by the waters. I don’t have to have the answers. I don’t have to see the light at the end. I don’t have to have a timeline. I just need to trust, to rest, to have faith.

Leave a Reply

